PDA

View Full Version : Y!Q



jaggy4u
02-04-2005, 09:15 PM
http://yq.search.yahoo.com/

The new Yahoo contextual search feature [dubbed Y!Q] rocks! Check it out..

tinker
02-04-2005, 09:46 PM
Try to search with this

"tell me about life"

The result will be

We weren't able to extract any words from your context selection. Your search box was also empty. Please try to add a query in the search box or select more text.

Is life that complicated ? or is it really empty ?

Teena
02-04-2005, 10:32 PM
I first entered GEETHAM and gave the search. Geetham stands first in both yahoo and google. Happy to see.

I heard yahoo search is little more advanced than google.

vasan
02-04-2005, 10:35 PM
msn introduced a new search engine last week..

Looks like every one wants a bite of Google's pie.. :P :P

v-

jaggy4u
02-05-2005, 12:01 AM
Try to search with this

"tell me about life"

The result will be

We weren't able to extract any words from your context selection. Your search box was also empty. Please try to add a query in the search box or select more text.

Is life that complicated ? or is it really empty ?


I guess you added double quotes, remove those quotes and search...
FYI..contextual search will get disabled if you add such quotes...
this is what we call rediff phobia when rediff first launched its search engine asked the users to place double quotes , + , - and all..

The good thing abt contextual search is it automagically refine the term we give..
Recently in our applications when we were thinking of giving the user an ability to give help we came up with this contextual help feature..the user simply love the feature..

Hope Google hits back with similar feature sooner..:)

tinker
02-05-2005, 12:05 AM
Actually I checked without the quotes :-)

jaggy4u
02-05-2005, 12:08 AM
am getting the result for it..
http://img207.exs.cx/img207/493/life9lv.gif

hmm hitting it for the 2nd time gives the result..you found a bug..you can sue them now :ahha: