PDA

View Full Version : No internet connection in Mandrake 10.1



Narayana
04-13-2005, 04:33 PM
Hi,

One small problem... i cant connect to the internet. I have a cable modem (64kbps unlimited connection). Mandrake 10.1 Official has detected my network card (VIA VT6105 RhineIII Fast Ethernet Adapter)it seems. but nothing else works... I have a Pentium III, 669 Mhz,PC with 256 MB RAM and Intel 810 chipset. I have dynamic IP. i have given automatic IP setting using DHCP. I see my IP address corectly assigned in the networks section.. But when i try to connect i get either cant resolve host or some other error. i tried giving IP address of yahoo. still not working.... Somebody please help... Guys at www.linuxforums.com are not responding...

ifconfig -a gave:




[root@localhost narayana]# ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:FC:F7:5A:60
inet6 addr: fe80::250:fcff:fef7:5a60/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:10195 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2914 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:654634 (639.2 Kb) TX bytes:127923 (124.9 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1091 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1091 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:66244 (64.6 Kb) TX bytes:66244 (64.6 Kb)

sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


route gave:




[root@localhost narayana]# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface



and finally dhclient gave:




[root@localhost narayana]# dhclient
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.1
Copyright 2004 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP

sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
/sbin/dhclient-script: configuration for sit0 not found.
sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
Listening on LPF/sit0/
Sending on LPF/sit0/
Listening on LPF/lo/
Sending on LPF/lo/
Listening on LPF/eth0/00:50:fc:f7:5a:60
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:50:fc:f7:5a:60
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on lo to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
receive_packet failed on sit0: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on sit0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
send_packet: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on lo to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
DHCPDISCOVER on sit0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
send_packet: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on lo to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
DHCPDISCOVER on sit0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
send_packet: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on lo to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 16
DHCPDISCOVER on sit0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
send_packet: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on lo to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
DHCPDISCOVER on sit0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
send_packet: Network is down
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.



I tried giving both as LAN and Cable as I dont know which i should. If set as CABLE, my IP address. etc,. are detected correctly, still cant connect to network....

Another thing, maybe not related to this... during boot, i get
Briging up interface eth0 :[OK]
and during shutdown, i get
Shutting down NMB services :[FAILED]

Please help.Thanks.

--N