PDA

View Full Version : Playing AVI in a slow system



ns80
06-29-2005, 08:39 PM
Is there a player that plays AVI files without streaming :think: I have a 600 MHz AMD K6-2 with 312 MB RAM running a Windows XP SP1. The system does everything else pretty satisfactorily (have run Firefox with 4-5 tabs open + Outlook 2003 + Azureus + 1 or 2 messenger clients :ee:).

I tried playing an AVI file when the memory usage was just about 96-97MB. I tried VLC as well as BS player. but still the video runs slower than the audio :Ksp: Any suggestions :think:

Narayana
06-30-2005, 01:35 AM
i had the same problem... i tried winamp, real, WMP, etc. no use. always the audio and video were out of sync.(but only for divx compressed files....) so i upgraded my system :ee: Mine was a 1997 PC.
--N

ns80
06-30-2005, 01:41 AM
so i upgraded my system

that's an expensive option. trying to do some research to make it work. before someday I eventually make that investment.

ashokcsn_2000
06-30-2005, 02:31 AM
the minimum system requirements for DivX on windows is sited below

[web:41e9f4f51a]http://www.divx.com/divx/system_requirements.php[/web:41e9f4f51a]

I would jack that up by atleast 25% on all resources considering that they usually give the absolute bare minimum needed...

So NS I guess it is pretty good time for you to upgrade your PC.... try a AMD FX 64bit, a dual proc board and a couple of gigs RAM with a SATA harddrive and a 256 MB graphics card... should be great :b:

ns80
06-30-2005, 03:39 AM
# Pentium III 733Mhz CPU or equivalent for DivX Home Theater profile video
# Pentium IV 2.4Ghz CPU or equivalent for DivX High Definition profile video

:ahha: :ahha: thanks ashok :b:. i guess i gotto upgrade it someday.

silican
07-05-2005, 05:03 PM
I got a new System done today 3.0Ghz HT with 1 GB RAM :ee:

- Silix

ashokcsn_2000
07-05-2005, 06:13 PM
I got a new System done today 3.0Ghz HT with 1 GB RAM

cool... treat enga :ahha:

Narayana
07-06-2005, 04:31 PM
Hey Silix, hows the noise level in your new PC?? is it intels? assembled or brand?
mine works fine but the sound is a bit on the higher side.(my config : P4 3Ghz HT, 800 FSB, i915 chipset with 64MB Vram, 513 ddr ram)
--N