PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone tell me wht 2do whn my monitor flickers on &



thamizh
09-30-2003, 11:01 AM
hi all,
hp sum1 cud help me.
my monitor flickers on & off evrytime i switch it on. Nothing wrong wiv d CPU which works properly. Becus of this probs, i cnt do nethin cos i cnt keep d monitor on for evn a few mins.
pls help me.
thamizh

arumugam57
09-30-2003, 11:14 AM
One simple and Uncertain cause for this is : There is a FAN/Other electrical equipment which emits lot of EMI (Electro magnetic Interference ) is running near your computer. Your monitr responds for this EMI when the equipment is with in 10 meters of your monitor.

Ok Solution: Temperary Solution : Move your computer or change the Old AC , Old fan.
Permanent Solution : Later.
Note:
Prof Guna Sekaran @ Centre for Electronics Design and Technology , Indian Institute of Science , Bangalore India did a big research on this topic. You can ask him too. He may give good solution for this.

arumugam57
09-30-2003, 11:30 AM
Hi tamil: Are you using Linux?

Because monitor flickers happen due to high refresh rate. Just decrease it. If you use windows also follow the same.

Above all don't put any power plug nearby your computer. That is the main culprit causes monitor flickering.

Cheers..

Bala
09-30-2003, 11:32 AM
Arumugam is right, if the problem is not solved by doing that
Try these

Check whether Driver for the Monitor is Installed properly!
If yes, you can change the monitor refresh rate in windows (i hope you are using windows) display settings

>> Right click on the desktop
>> select Properties
>> select/click on settings
>> click on Advanced
>> change the refresh rate :b:

arumugam57
09-30-2003, 11:50 AM
How can we check whether monitor is installed properly or not? :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think:
Except the driver matter.. All others are ..what I told already.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Athave thirumba thirumba sollitu.. enna lolla?

Any how your >> details are good.

thamizh
09-30-2003, 12:26 PM
unga uthavikki romba nandri, arumugam + admin.
there are no other electrical equipments near the computer, the sockets on the wall behind the monitor have the monitor, CPU, Woofer and printer cables plugged into them. The monitor was working properly until very recently so i doubt any interference of other applicance with the monitor. but newy, i will try 2 c, but if tht is not the solution, cud u tell me nething else tht cud b? this IT guy told me tht it cud b due 2 sumthin internal . wht do u think?the pc is 2 yrs old.
pls help & thanks agn.
thamizh

thamizh
09-30-2003, 12:27 PM
Arumugam is right, if the problem is not solved by doing that
Try these

Check whether Driver for the Monitor is Installed properly!
If yes, you can change the monitor refresh rate in windows (i hope you are using windows) display settings

>> Right click on the desktop
>> select Properties
>> select/click on settings
>> click on Advanced
>> change the refresh rate :b:

i cant do this cos i cant evn get d monitor 2 b On evn 4 half a minute! but b4 whn it was this bad, i tried 2 change d monitor settings bk 2 factory settigns as suggested by the solutions CD tht came wiv d monitor.

Bala
09-30-2003, 01:51 PM
How can we check whether monitor is installed properly or not? :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think:
Except the driver matter.. All others are ..what I told already.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Athave thirumba thirumba sollitu.. enna lolla?

Any how your >> details are good.

Nothing about who told what, think properly arumugam :evil: , point is how to solve the problem, above quoted post is not needed at all :lol:

my reply was for the first post of yours, but you posted a new post just before my post (while i am typing):think:

if the monitor driver is not installed properly, you can not change the monitor refresh rate :lol: , you can check whether the monitor driver is installed or not under mycomputer >> Device Manager

Right Click on My computer
>> System Properties
>> Hardware
>> Device Manager

sweetie
09-30-2003, 02:03 PM
* Could be a Driver Problem (as already mentioned)
* Could be EMI
* Could be your Screen Resolution setting / Refresh Rate !!!
* Could be wavy components on the Monitor Mother Board (like soldered components coming loose)

Tryiing fiddling arnd with this, n post us wat u went thru.....

arumugam57
09-30-2003, 02:34 PM
Nothing about who told what, think properly arumugam , point is how to solve the problem, above quoted post is not needed at all

Saring.. Saring.. Just thamasukku thang..


if the monitor driver is not installed properly, you can not change the monitor refresh rate , you can check whether the monitor driver is installed or not under mycomputer >> hardware Devices


Oh.. IC :00::00::00:
Thanks for the Info Admin.. :yes::yes::yes:

arumugam57
09-30-2003, 02:37 PM
Thamiz.. I thought the problem is just a normal day to day problem with computer monitor. But nee solratha paartha.. Sorry to say..Sangoothira Vendiyathu Thaaan. :lol: :lol: :lol:

vennai1
09-30-2003, 08:46 PM
Please give the monitor to old hardware shop.

they will give you 50 paise or 1 Rupee...

enjoy tamizh ;)

thamizh
10-01-2003, 09:55 AM
oi enna vilaiyaattaa irukka ungalukku? naan onnum ungalai pola dabbu party illa, monitor koduththuttu innonnu puthusu vaanga.
the thing is, im wondering whether any virus in d computer cud lead 2 this? cos i hvnt had this probs evn once b4. all has happened evr since i took my CPU 2 my frd's place 2 connect 2 his Internet service provider. v had 2 open d CPU 2 install d netwrk card & thn connected it 2 d internet. The CPU was connected 2 d net 4 a few days. At d end of this time, CPU failed 2 recognise d DVD drive, so v thought mayb v did sth 2 d interface wire, so plannin 2 replace it. but whn i bought my CPU bk 2 my hse & connected d monitor 2 it, the DVD-Rom was stil not recognised & d monitor started flickering after a few days.First it wud flicker for a bit & wud b ok after switchin off d monitor 4 a min or so. Nw, i cant evn switch it on & leave it on for a few seconds. Tht is d probs.
i wud only replace d whole monitor if it wud cost me more 2 repair it.
but this monitor (&d whole pc) is dear 2 me. 19 1/2 inch screen. .... :cry:
thanks for ur help guys.

ps: oh ya, yday i wnt & checked if there were any interference 2 d pc frm any other appliance. the only near d pc is landline telephone. Another interesting thing tht happend yday was i switched off all d other plugs (CPU & woffer) & tried switchin on d monitor. it switched on perfectly without flickering. but it wnt on stand-by mode obviously becus d CPU wasnt connected bt once i switched on d CPU it started flickering ! aha! so do u think tht CPU is hvin a big effect on d monitor's probs? pls help me lah ppl !
thanks in advance,
thamizh

vennai1
10-01-2003, 06:40 PM
tamizh,

can you give your PC and monitor model details.

thamizh
10-06-2003, 01:22 PM
wht kind of details do u want vennai avargale?

thanks,
thamizh

arumugam57
10-06-2003, 01:42 PM
My computer - Right click
-- Properties
-- Hardware
-- Device manager
-- Monitor ( Right click --Properties)

This details only this useless vennai vants I think.
But why he wants these details? :think::think::think::think::t hink:
Kadaila potta ethanai percham palam kedaikumnu sollap poriyaa?

sathy
10-06-2003, 09:50 PM
Thamizh,

If your OS support safe mode, then restart your computer, press F8 and select safe mode. Go to display properties and try to change the refresh rate settings, as Mr.6face said lower the rate. You might have a luck with the safe mode. Most of the time safe mode works... If not, sorry for your monitor. :Ksp:

thamizh
10-07-2003, 11:42 AM
lol sathy, haiyoo makkalae, naan soldrathu puriyalaiyaa? naan oru nimisham kuda monitor i cant keep the monitor on. so safe mode la vaikka mudiyaathu.
newy, my frd asked in a pc shop & was told me 2 check if d monitor stil flickers whn connected 2 another cpu.if it doesnt, thn sumthing wrong with cpu but if it does thn monitor'ai repair panna mudiyaatti maru naale "sangu thaan " :cry:

sweetie
10-07-2003, 11:49 AM
Thamizh.... pesaama nee sangu oothidu... athu easy thaane ??? :P jus kiddin....

If u cud solve the problem, do post a note here about wat u did... so that it cud be usefulk for others too... thanks....

sathy
10-07-2003, 05:01 PM
thamizh

your question was about monitor flickering... monitor work agalana then your questiong should be how to troubleshoot a monitor that was in a good working condition. anyways try with another cpu, don't conclude its a problem with the cpu. it can be your graphics adapter too. good luck

sri_gan
10-08-2003, 02:12 AM
Yes Thamizh there is a possibilty of problem in the VGA card, Most of the times it will be a loose contact..

Usually CPU or RAM problem will be indicated by beeps POST (POWER ON SELF TEST) nadakkum pothu beeps continousa varum or a long beep will be comming to indicate the problem.

Please verify the above said and post the symptoms here will try to help.

Guest
10-08-2003, 03:19 AM
what are you do guys

sri_gan
10-08-2003, 03:56 AM
what are you do guys

This is a community forum Guest.

Please register a user account and share you thoughts or question.

The current topic is for providing basic help if you have any problem with computers or handeling computer.

See you at the forums.

thamizh
10-08-2003, 01:23 PM
ya thanks sathy and sri_gan, the person at the computer center had told my frd that if the monitor is working fine when connected to another computer then it must b sth wrong with the video card of the cpu. remember in my previous postings, i hv said tht the computer is not recognising the DVD Rom, mayb tht cud b d probs.
now, im clearer abt d cause of the probs.
wil let u guys knw if and hw i solved d probs, pretty soon i hope!
thanks a lot every1,
thamizh

thamizh
11-07-2003, 01:07 PM
sorry, i didnt keep u guys updated wht happened to my pc, well, i came to knw that usually a monitor shd cum with a three yr warranty. My computer came with a 1 yr warranty so i cudnt send it bk to them to repair it for me.

newy, in the computer repair shop, they told me that it cost abt £100 to sort out a 19" monitor, whereas a 17" could cost £50 whereas a second-hand 19" monitor costs £50 so they said that it just wasnt worth trying to repair monitors.

What is intruging is if you are buyin a monitor on its own, then that comes with a 3 yr waranty.

It makes you think that the manufacters actually make their systems to last 2 or 3 yrs so that there is a demand for their monitors all the time.
So next time you are buying a computer, be sure abt the guarantee they are giving and also the length of time of the warranty.
Once your monitor starts giving you probs, just try to get another one instead of tryin to get it fixed.

So i bought a second one 17" inch monitor for £35. The guy i bought it from was telling me that Dell could be the best for desktops but are actually dodgy whn it comes to some aspects. Remember i was saying that my pc doesnt recognise my DVD-ROM after i tried to insert a CD-RW drive, well that could have been because i could have moved the position the DVD-ROM drive. The drive is actually vertical in the way it is in the CPU and also it has two metal plates to keep it in the position so mayb i have upset that position.

hm, next time you guys are buying a computer or have a problem, just be sure of these things that could happen.

thanks again for all your help.

bye,
thamizh

bel
01-15-2004, 05:59 AM
they call it jitter.
if it is a crt screen, check for connections,
if it is a tft screen and urs is dell, then man ur in big trouble. Mine was over 2yrs old and it gave me trouble bigtime, I had to send it to dell to fix it. the hinge in tft screen is very week in dell

malicka
01-30-2004, 10:40 AM
hi
its worth to buy a second hand monitor as you never dream of repairing it (EXCEPT INDIA )
coz in India Setthavanukke operation pannuvarhal
search in web where you can get 2nd MON
now a days CRT Mon can buy at throw away price
so better sangu oodify your MON