PDA

View Full Version : SocketException: Broken Pipe - Help!!!!



Shy
03-30-2007, 09:12 PM
We have a go-live next week.. When my team started SIT today with the client, they are getting a brokenpipe error.. socketexception...

I know there are many linux gurus here.. so if you can help me out, that would be great.

Connection between client x and y is a secured T1.

client x has his application running in IP 1.2.3.4 and the proxy is 11.22.33.44
client y is trying to hit 11.22.33.44
application runs fine on contact, but while trying to send a response back, it throws a broken pipe error.

BTW, the client x has his application running in linux red hat..

any thoughts?

Shy

tinker
03-30-2007, 10:17 PM
What protocol do you guys use to commnunicate ... (SSH ,TCP , scp,ftp ? ) ...

Also , do they have the firewall open both ways and not one way to the server ?

Shy
03-30-2007, 10:33 PM
(1) TCP

(2) Client x have a firewall and Client y have too..

(X )[application ip is 1.2.3.4] [firewall] [outside firewall..ip proxied 11.22.33.44] <--->

[firewall]--[application that hits 11.22.33.44] (Y)


Shy

tinker
03-30-2007, 10:39 PM
and is it a Java application ? ..

Try doing a telnet to the application ip on the port no where it is running and see if it get connected ....

also , check if traceroute from the server can get back to the client ...

Its definitely losing connectivity one way or the other on either the client side or the server side ... Check connection pooling or any other setting on the appn... or the server itself ...

Shy
03-30-2007, 10:54 PM
Client x has a Webservice and client y is trying to invoke that from BIZTALK.

they tried nmon, topas.. but not sure whats happening. will ask them to do a trace and see..

sniffer tools yetha theriyumma.. to know which side is actually trying to close the connection?

Shy

emyesbee
03-30-2007, 11:07 PM
I am not very literate in networking....

Seems may be the client is not sending the datas in the format the server expects...that might be one of the issue here....Since u say u get the connection allright and only when client respond u get the error...that might a problem.


The follwing talks abt the above issue :Ksp:
http://forum.java.sun.com/thread.jspa?threadID=568284&messageID=3839109