PDA

View Full Version : Sorting Algorithms

dinesh
11-15-2003, 12:47 AM
We use several sorting algorithms these days. What are the best ones, performance wise, in your opinion?
Please give results in best/average/worst cases?

It will also help if you can explain how the algorithm works....

silican
11-15-2003, 12:59 AM
Im not a Programmer basically. So I havent used much of Sorting Algorithms other than Bubble-sort. I know its very slow when u go for large arrays. But I prefer ths one as most of my computations involve smaller arrays and moreover its easy.

anainar
11-15-2003, 01:18 AM
Dinesh,

I used to write programs and did this as excercise during masters. But dont have the results. After I started professional code writing in 1995, never had to write code for sorting/searching and such kind of rudimentary tasks. I have used a bunch of libraries Roguewave product which provide all these functionalities.

Sorting generally has two overheads. One is number of comparisons and the other is number of exchanges. There is a third one which is not relevant now, which is storage space, with memory becoming so cheap, that no longer is a criteria production software guy look at in the first place. As a general rule for non ordered N element array, sorting by bubble sort, selection sort, insertion sort all require factors of N*N comparisons and factors of N*N exchanges. The only other algorithm that is much faster is Quicksort, which normally is in the range of NlogN operations. That is provided as a standard C library function in most of the UNIX boxes. I am not sure about Windows whether MFC has built in functions.

So, if you are in UNIX, dont pain yourself writing sorting code. Use qsort which is readily available to you.

Cheers.

mpalanieppan
11-15-2003, 05:21 AM